Meteor(1979) and The Visit(2015)

I watched two wildly different films today. The first I sat in my little room and watched. It was called Meteor (1979) with Sean Connery, Brian Keith, Natalie Wood, Martin Landau, and Karl Malden. This is one of those casts that would make an insurance commercial exciting. They are all pretty good if it wasn’t sunk by a deadly dull and unthrilling meteor threat with a picture of a huge chunk of rock in outerspace on its way to earth. NASA must find a way with the help of brilliant scientist Sean Connery to get both American and Russian nuclear missile platforms in space directed toward the massive rock imperiling earth. But Martin Landau is the argumentative general against this. Natalie Wood is the attractive Russian translator involved with speaking for the non-English speaking Russian ambassador Brian Keith. Though I did say it was sunk it actually receives a middle vote of 2 and a 1/2 out of 4 stars. It is equal parts good and bad. It picks up about 2/3rds of the way through. I am a big Connery fan. Along with the Bond films, Indiana Jones, The Untouchables, The Hunt for Red October, there is Marnie, The Bunker, The Molly Macguires, and one of my favorite guilty pleasure movies The Great Train Robbery.

The second film I watched was M. Night Shyamalan’s The Visit which is kind of a psychological horror movie. I watched this with a neighbor. We had some pizza and Dr. Pepper. The movie was not bad once it got going. It had a protracted set-up it seemed to me with a lot of nutty goings on. It is about this pair of kids who go to visit their estranged grandparents who get stranger and stranger as their week together passes. It becomes more obvious as the movie goes on that things are just about to go haywire. The film is captured from the point of view that the teen girl is filming her lovely week with her grandparents along with her bratty younger brother. I don’t know maybe it could be said to be a bit claustrophobic because of that. But sometimes I think I  pull the old its claustrophobic thing out when I don’t want to discuss the plot so. You be the judge. Decent performances. A pretty ingenious plot twist in my limited opinion. I have not seen a lot of the horror movies of the last decade and a half so this may be hackneyed like my blogs. I would give this a 3 out of 4 stars.

 

Meteor(1979) and The Visit(2015)

Leave a Reply

