The Revenant

I went to the local theater to see The Revenant. It was directed by Alejandro Inarritu. It stars Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hardy. The film was better than I expected. I was not sure what to expect with the title which was a word I had read in a Stephen King novel and did not know the meaning of. I thought it meant an avenging spirit so that is kind of what I was looking for and what I got was fairly close to that though on research in the dictionary I found that it meant someone returned from the dead. The movie is grueling and gritty and forehead veined. I had read the story of Hugh Glass I am sure years ago and Jim Bridger before he became a legend just like Glass and John Fitzgerald. Some of the details were unfamiliar. Like the Hawk character. Maybe I had forgotten about him or something. Anyway the story begins with a ferocious Indian attack which is amazing and there is later a bear attack and all sorts of demanding and exhausting and sometimes disgusting things happening. Outside of some Faces of Fear video one hasn’t likely seen a bear or any animal attack this realistic before. It is rated R for a reason. A seasoned movie watcher may be nonplussed but everyone else should not think of letting themselves or anyone of faint heart watch. A pain wrenched DiCaprio is the image that stays in my head, bloodied and after a while bloodthirsty literally at times. The scenery is beautiful like Jeremiah Johnson or Dances With Wolves or any of a number of Western pictures. I am sure a comparison could be done between Robert Redford’s career and DiCaprio’s but I am not the cinema master to do it though I am sure that would make interesting reading. To use phraseology I have learned probably from Roger Ebert it does not mean much to say one loves this movie though I do admire it. One scene didn’t make much sense to me and a number of payoffs are hard to describe and would reveal to much of the plot. Not being experienced with photography even I notice things like the deep lens cinematography in this. The sound is well designed. Excruciating and bludgeoning and deadening. Still I will give it for its acting by DiCaprio and Hardy who are both put through there paces and viscerally demanding three stars out of four.

The Revenant

One thought on “The Revenant

Leave a Reply

