Idealist

Today I discovered that I am an Idealist rather than a Rational temperament type. I had mentioned to Bilious from Sunshine Club that, on questioning him a bit, that he is probably Rational and somewhere in the conversation he said he thought I was an Idealist. I was really struck by that and on investigation discovered that either I have changed in the last 15 years or I had it wrong all along. I had thought since around 1997 or so that I was an INTJ or an introverted intuitive thinking judger according to the Myers-Briggs Indicator. In other words a technologically savvy science-oriented Rational. This had never really rang completely true though I had on a number of occasions found myself very attracted to the ENFP or extroverted intuitive feeling perciever Idealist Temperment the NT females. Anyway, with a little investigation I found myself to be an Idealist or an INFJ which seemed to be more accurate if not perfectly true. For those of you who do not know what I am talking about there are a number of excellent books about personality types. Please Understand Me and Please Understand Me II and What Type Am I?.. etc.

Anyway there are something like 16 different personality types with combinations of  either introverted or extroverted, intuitive or sensing, thinking or feeling, and lastly perceiving or judging. David Keirsey has gone a long way among others in explaining these types. But I feel these personality or temperament types could go a long way to solve many misunderstandings between workers and parents and children  and mates. Rather than trying to form people in our image we would recognize and honor differences between people.  Well, ta.

Idealist

Leave a Reply

